Chief Justice Appoints 17 Courts, High Court Judges to Handle Electoral Disputes

The Chief Justice has set apart 17 courts and 17 Justices to take care of disputes that may arise in the course of the 2016 elections

According to Daily Graphic reports, Chief Justice Georgina Theodora Wood, has assigned 17 courts to deal with electoral disputes that may arise before the December 7, 2016 presidential and parliamentary elections. 17 High Court judges have also been appointed alongside the 17 courts to handle anticipated electoral disputes throughout the country.

See Also: Nana Konadu’s Stand on EC’s Disqualification

According to the Judicial Secretary, Mr Justice Alex Poku-Acheampong, the appointed justices will ensure that all arising election-related cases are heard expeditiously on a daily basis.

He gave the breakdown of the judges assigned as follows: Greater Accra, six; Ashanti and Western, two each, while Eastern, Central, Upper West, Upper East, Northern, Volta and Brong Ahafo have been assigned a judge each.

This special provision made by the Supreme Court was necessitated by concerns that the December 7, 2016 electoral calendar could be negatively affected owing to the rising number of disputes between presidential aspirants and the Electoral Commission (EC). Howbeit, the Judicial Secretary said there was no cause for alarm.

EC Disqualification of Presidential Aspirants

At a press conference in Accra on Monday, October 10, 2016, the Chairperson of the EC, Mrs Charlotte Osei, disqualified 13 presidential aspirants.

See: Why EC Disqualified Nduom, 12 Other Presidential Aspirants

According to the EC Boss, the disqualified candidates were shown the door because they failed to meet the requirements that makes them eligible to contest, as stipulated in the Constitutional Instrument (C.I.) 94 meant for the conduct of the elections.

Most of the aspirants were disqualified for lapses found in the filling of their nomination forms. Mrs Osei also said the issues of forgery, perjury, impersonation, etc. would be referred to the Ghana Police Service and the Attorney General for investigations and prosecution.

Below is the full list of the 13 disqualified Presidential candidates:

  • Dr. Papa Kwesi Nduom -Progressive People’s Party (PPP)
  • Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings -National Democratic Party (NDP)
  • Hassan Ayariga – All People’s Congress (APC)
  • Kofi Akpalu -Independent People’s Party (IPP)
  • Thomas Nuako Ward-Brew -Democratic People’s Party (DPP)
  • Akua’s Donkor -Ghana Freedom Party (GFP),
  • Akwasi Addai Odike -United Progressive Party (UPP),
  • Kwabena Adjei -Reformed Patriotic Democrats (RPD)
  • Nana Agyenim Boateng -United Front Party (UFP)
  • Dr. Henry Herbert Lartey -Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP)
  • Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker – Independent candidate
  • Richard Nixon Tetteh – United Development Systems Party
  • Kwabena Adjei- Reform Patriotic Democrat

However, only four Presidential Candididates were qualified by the EC. They are;

  • Nana Addo–Dankwa Akufo-Addo – New Patriotic Party
  • John Dramani Mahama – National Democratic Congress
  • Ivor Kobina Greenstreet – Convention Peoples’ Party
  • Jacob Osei Yeboah – Independent Candidate

Flag bearer of the Progressive People’s Party (PPP), Dr Paa Kwesi Nduom, filed an application on October 14, 2016, for judicial review praying the High Court to cancel the EC’s decision. Some other aspirants, including Nana Konadu of the NDP, have indicated their intention to sue the EC.