2017 African Footballer of the Year Award: See Ghanaian Players Who Made Nominee List

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has released its 30-man African Footballer of the Year nominee list. Black Stars footballers Thomas Partey of Atletico Madrid and Christian Atsu of Newcastle United were both nominated for the  2017 African Player of the Year Award.

Partey has been in sparkling form this year for club and country and has even earned a place in the starting line-up of Atletico Madrid.

See: Fast Facts About Partey and His Atletico Madrid Exploits

Atsu on his own part, has equally paid his dues to Rafael Benitez’ Newcastle Utd, helping them to gain promotion back to the English Premier League and also faring well in the Premier League.

They will compete with the likes of Liverpool and Egypt’s Mohamed Salah, Senegal’s Sadio Mane, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon and Borussia Dortmund for a place in the final three short list to mount the podium for the award.

Also See: 10 Lesser Known Facts About Atsu and His Newcastle Signing

Full list of nominees for the 2017 African Player of the Year Award:

  1. Ali Maaloul (Tunisia & Al Ahly)
  2. Bertrand Traore (Burkina Faso & Lyon)
  3. Cedric Bakambu (DR Congo & Villareal)
  4. Christian Atsu (Ghana & Newcastle)
  5. Christian Bassogog (Cameroon & Henan Jianye)
  6. Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
  7. Eric Bailly (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester United)
  8. Essam El Hadary (Egypt & Al Taawoun)
  9. Fabrice Ondoa (Cameroon & Sevilla)
  10. Fackson Kapumbu (Zambia & Zesco)
  11. Jean Michel Seri (Cote d’Ivoire & Nice)
  12. Junior Kabananga (DR Congo & Astana)
  13. Karim El Ahmadi (Morocco & Feyenoord)
  14. Keita Balde (Senegal & Monaco)
  15. Khalid Boutaib (Morocco & Yeni Malatyaspor)
  16. Mbwana Samata (Tanzania & Genk)
  17. Michael Olunga (Kenya & Girona)
  18. Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
  19. Moussa Marega (Mali & Porto)
  20. Naby Keita (Guinea & RB Leipzig)
  21. Percy Tau (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)
  22. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund)
  23. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
  24. Thomas Partey (Ghana & Atletico Madrid)
  25. Victor Moses (Nigeria & Chelsea)
  26. Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon & Porto)
  27. William Troost-Ekong (Nigeria & Bursaspor)
  28. Yacine Brahimi (Algeria & Porto)
  29. Youssef Msakni (Tunisia & Al Duhail)
  30. Yves Bissouma (Mali & Lille)