Avram Grant To Select Squad List For AFCON 2017 Today

After meeting the team’s management over the team, Former Chelsea FC coach and current Ghana coach, Avram Grant, named his provisional 30-man squad for the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations today, Monday December 26, 2016.

According to Graphic Sports, the biggest sports newspaper in the nation, the Ghana FA summoned the head coach of the Black Stars, Avram Grant, to fly all the way from the UK to select and defend his provisional squad list for the forthcoming AFCON 2017 tournaments.

On Wednesday, in Accra, Avram Grant submitted his provisional list to the GFA last week for its scrutiny, before the beginning of the team’s training sessions geared towards building a winning team for the tournament.

You Might Also Want To See This: Africa Cup Of Nations – Five Countries With The Most Wins

The Ghana national team Management Committee refused to consider the squad list in the absence of the national team coach, and so implored the Football Association to ask Grant to fly down to Ghana for it.

Immediately after the consultation meeting with the management, the squad list will be released, so as to avoid any leaks to the press.

Even before the list was released, some players already knew they would have a place on the list, and some have even confirmed their invites to play in the tournament in the colours of Ghana. Some of these include Rashid Sumaila, Schalke’s striker Bernard Tepketey and Raphael Dwamena.

Several quarters already believe that some important names like Latif Blessing and some local league players will not be left. Others believes to be on the list are Wakaso, Baba Rahman, Asamoah Gyan, as well as Jonathan Mensah.

Read Also: “Forgive Us for Whatever has Happened” – Andre Ayew Again Pleads for Support Ahead of 2017 AFCON

The Ghanaian national team begins its camping on Wednesday.

Avram Grant and the Black Stars will have at least a week and three days camping in the Middle East, for training purposes, before flying to Gabon for the competitions slated for January 14, 2017.