Finally! Bisa Kdei Tops 2016 MOGO Awards List of Winners

Popular Ghanaian high life musician, Bisa KDei has taken the lead among the winners of the 2016 MOGO Awards held at the Alisa Hotel, Saturday night.

Although Bisa KDei would be said to be somehow new in the Ghana music industry when compared to some other Ghanaian musicians, he has worked himself up the ladder with hard work and determination.

At this year’s Music of Ghanaian Origin (MOGO) Awards, his hard work have been crowned with four individual awards and another for a collaborative piece. 

We would recall that he was also taking the lead in the 2016 MOGO Awards nomination list with seven nominations out of the available ten award categories.

At the event, he was named the MOGO Artiste of the year, his song ‘Mansa’ was named the MOGO Song of the Year, and he was named the MOGO song writer of the year, as well as the MOGO Best Male Act.

Bisa, who’s on a tour outside the country, had his Business Manager Kojo Akuffo picked the awards on his behalf.

Moreover, Obrafuor’s ‘Pimpinaa’ which also featured Bisa won the Best MOGO Collaboration.

The MOGO Awards, a Citi FM initiative and a subset of the bigger MOGO Festival, seeks to celebrate authentic Ghanaian Highlife music and also reward those whose efforts have kept the genre alive.

This year’s event also treated invited guests to a dinner dance with great performances from Amakye Dede, Bessa Simons, Ebo Taylor and Bob Pinodo and also enough to eat and drink.

The MOGO Festival started on February 29, with the 3 Nights with Music Greats series, which featured Bob Pinodo, Ebo Taylor and K.K Kabobo at the +233 Jazz and Grill Bar. It was that event that prepared the grounds for the main awards night at the Alisa Hotel.

Full List of Award Winners:

MOGO Best Song – Bisa Kdei – Mansa

MOGO Best Song writer– Bisa Kdei MOGO

Artiste of the year – Bisa Kdei

MOGO Best Performer – Amakye Dede

MOGO Album of the year – Sarkodie

MOGO Best Female Act – Efya

MOGO Best Band/Group – Ohia be ye ya

MOGO Best Producer – Kaywa

MOGO Best Collaboration – Obrafuor/ Bisa Kdei – Pimpinaa

MOGO Male Act – Bisa Kdei

MOGO Lifetime Achievement Award – Bob Pinodo and Ebo Taylor

You’ll like – [email protected]: Journalists Packed Like ‘Monkeys’ To Cover Independence Parade!