Black Stars New Look: Coach Appiah Keeps His Word To Home-Based Players in First 30-Man Squad

Newly appointed Ghanaian Coach, James Kwesi Appiah has fulfilled his promise to good legs among home-based Ghanaian footballers in his first major selection of Black Stars team players.

Coach Appiah who is known for giving chances to upcoming players had earlier promised that the expected new look of the national team will definitely be based on competition and expertise. The former Al Khartoum manager had therefore warned local players to always give in their best anytime they represent their respective clubs, as they are being kept under close watch.

The returning coach after all kept his word as he released a 30-man squad on Thursday, 25th May, 2017. Seven players were lifted from different local clubs to join the principal national team as Ghana prepares for the various tournaments ahead.

Among the local players favoured in Kwesi Appiah’s new Black Stars team are Kotoko’s Felix Annan, Hearts of Oak’s Winful Cobinnah and Aduana’s Joseph Addo and Daniel Darkwah. Also, Wa All Stars goalie Richard Ofori, Liberty Professionals skipper Samuel Sarfo, together with Nicholas Opoku, all found spots in the new Black Stars squad.

Also in the 30-man squad are new faces such as Munich left-back Lumor Agbenyenu, Turkey-based Isaac Sackey, Kingsley Sarfo of Swedish side Sirius, and NAC Breda winger Thomas Agyepong. Goalkeeper Adam Kwarasey, who missed the 2017 AFCON due to injury, was also included.

Jerry Akaminko, Qatar-based Rashid Sumaila and Columbus Crew midfielder Mohammed Abu, who all never played under the immediate-past coach Avram Grant, have all been called up.

Also See: Kwesi Appiah Names 30 Home-based Players in New Black Stars B List

Kwesi Appiah is determined this time around, to end Ghana’s long and frustrating trophy drought by ensuring that the national team becomes formidable ahead of the 2019 African Cup of Nations. Below is the full list of Coach Appiah’s newly selected Black Stars team players.


1. Richard Ofori (Wa All Stars)

2. Adam Kwarasey (Brondby, Denmark)

3. Felix Annan (Kotoko)

4. Joseph Addo (Aduana Stars)


5. Harrison Afful (Columbus Crew, USA)

6. Daniel Amartey (Leicester City, England)

7. Lumor Agbenyenu (Munich 1860, Germany)

8. Daniel Darkwah (Aduana Stars)

9. John Boye (Sivasspor, Turkey)

10. Rashid Sumalia (Al Gharafa, Qatar)

11. Nicholas Opoku (Berekum Chelsea)

12. Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew, USA)

13. Jerry Akaminko (Eskiserhispor, Turkey)

14. Samuel Sarfo (Liberty Professionals)


15. Mohammed Abu (Columbus Crew, USA)

16. Afriyie Acquah (Torino, Italy)

17. Isaac Sackey (Alanyaspor, Turkey)

18. Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain)

19. Ebenezer Ofori (Stuttgart, Germany)

20. Kingsley Sarfo (Sirius, Sweden)

21. Winful Cobbinah (Hearts of Oak)

22. Yaw Yeboah (FC Twente, Holland)

23. Godsway Donyoh (Nordjaelland, Denmark)

24. Andre Ayew (West Ham, England)

25. Frank Acheampong (Anderlecht, Belgium)

26. Thomas Agyepong (NAC Breda, Holland)


27. Asamoah Gyan (Al Alhi, UAE)

28. Jordan Ayew (Swansea City, England)

29. Majeed Waris (Lorient FC, France)

30. Raphael Dwamena (FC Zurich, Switzerland)

Ghana will be facing-off with Ethiopia in their first 2019 AFCON qualifier match on Sunday, 11th June, at the Baba Yara Stadium in Kumasi.

The team will subsequently be in the United States two weeks later, for the Mexico vs Ghana clash coming off in Houston, Texas on June 28, and then the USA vs Ghana match on 1st July, in Connecticut.

The newly named Black Stars squad is expected to assemble in Accra on Monday, 5th June, 2017, to commence trainings for the above tasks.