CAF Announces Final Shortlist For 2017 African Player Of The Year

Africa’s football governing body – Confederation of African Football (CAF) has revealed its 30-man shortlists for the African Player of the Year and Africa-Based Player of the Year.

The body announced Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Sadio Mane and Mohamed Salah in the final three players who will battle it out for the 2017 African Player of the Year award. The trio was part of an initial 30-man shortlist which was trickled down 11-man.

The final phase of this shortlist was determined by votes from the Head Coaches/Technical Directors of the 54 National Associations affiliated to CAF plus Associate Members, Reunion Island, and Zanzibar.

See Also: Mohamed Salah: Facts About The New BBC African Player Of The Year

Ghana U17 captain Eric Ayiah was omitted from the final three-man shortlist for the 2017 CAF Youth Player of the Year award. The Charity Stars FC ace was removed from the preliminary five-man list alongside South Africa winger Luther Singh.

But Liverpool’s Mohammed Salah has already won the 2017 BBC African Footballer of the Year award, while Gabon’s Aubameyang won the Caf award in 2015.

The list was cut from 11 nominees that Caf announced in November. Hugo Broos, who led Cameroon to the Africa Cup of Nations title in February, missed out on the final three-man list after being named among the original five nominees.

See Also: African Reps At World Cup: Meet The 5 Countries to Play in Russia 2018

CAF also released the shortlists for several of its other award categories, which will be handed out on 4 January in Accra, Ghana.

African Player of the Year:

Mohamed Salah (Egypt and Liverpool)
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon and B. Dortmund)
Sadio Mane (Senegal and Liverpool)

Women’s Player of the Year:

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and Dalian Quanjian)
Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa and UWC Ladies)
Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene(Cameroon and CSKA Moscow)

Women’s National Team of the Year:

Ghana U-20
Nigeria U-20
South Africa

Coach of the Year:

Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)
Hector Cuper (Egypt)
L’Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Athletic Club)

National Team of the Year:


Club of the Year:

Al Ahly
TP Mazembe
Wydad Athletic Club

Youth Player of the Year:

Krepin Diatta (Senegal and Sarpsborg)
Patson Daka (Zambia and Liefering)
Salam Giddou (Mali and Guidars)