CAF Election: Ahmad Ahmad Beats Incumbent Hayatou to Become New CAF President

CAF election: Ahmad’s convincing message of better leadership awoke the desire for change among the executives who had long supported Issa Hayatou over the years!

Head of the Madagascar FA, Ahmad Ahmad has defeated incumbent Issa Hayatou to win the CAF presidential election held today March 16, 2017. After what seemed like a tussle, Ahmad defeated incumbent Issa Hayatou by 34 to 20 votes at the CAF election, held at the Africa Union Plenary Hall in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Also Read: Ahmad Ahmad -Issa Hayatou’s Toughest Challenge; Voting Controversy and More…  

Ahmad, who had campaigned on administrative reform, financial transparency and a potential reorganization of CAF competitions, succeeded in passing his message across to CAF executives, many of whom have lost confidence in the incumbent president.

CAF elections: Issa Hayatou
CAF election: Incumbent President, Issa Hayatou

This brings to an end, the regime of Issa Hayatou who has ruled 29 years unopposed. Having lost his presidential seat, Issa Hayatou will also lose his FIFA position and his place on the ruling council of world football’s governing body.

Ahmad Ahmad was described as the toughest challenge for Hayatou, who was seeking re-election for an eight term at CAF presidency.

CAF election: Ahmad Ahmad ousts Hayatou to win presidential seat
CAF election: Ahmad Ahmad, President-elect

In the course of electioneering, Ahmad’s convincing message of change and better leadership seemingly awoke the desire for change among the executives who had long supported Issa Hayatou over the years. This tilted attention towards Ahmad, caused a seeming tension among loyalists of the defeated president, who was said to have foreseen a defeat.

With a new favorite in the house, there had been a seeming division among CAF executives concerning whom to vote for, leading to several uncertainties cum controversies. Ahmad’s victory goes to justify earlier reports from some sources, predicting a win for the Madagascar FA head with up to 30 votes.

Zanzibar – New CAF member

Also at the CAF Congress, Zanzibar was unanimously accepted as a member of the Confederation of African Football. This according to reports, makes CAF one of the largest football confederation in the world with members.

CAF Presidency in History [Updated] 

Abdel Aziz Abdallah Salem (Egypt) – 1957 – 1958

Abdel Aziz Mostafa (Egypt) – 1958 – 1968

Abdel Halim Mohamed (Sudan) – 1968 – 1972

Ydnekatchew Tessema (Ethiopia) – 1972 – 1987

Abdel Halim Mohamed (Sudan) – 1987 – 1988 (acting capacity)

Issa Hayatou (Cameroon) – 1988 – 2017

Ahmad Ahmad (Madagascar) 2017 – (Present)

Those who voted

  1. Mohamed Raouraoua (Algeria)
  2. Artur de Almeida (Angola)
  3. Anjorin Moucharafou (Benin Republic)
  4. Mclean Letshwiti (Botswana)
  5. Sita Sangare (Burkina Faso)
  6. Reverien Ndikuriyo (Burundi)
  7. Sidiki A Roko (Cameroon)
  8. Victor Osorio (Cape Verde)
  9. Edouard Ngaissona (Central Africa Republic)
  10. Mahamoud Moctar (Chad)
  11. Tourqui Salim (Comoros)
  12. Jean Michel Mbono (Congo)
  13. Omari Constant Selemani (DR Congo)
  14. Augustin Sidy Diallo (Cote d’Ivoire)
  15. Souleiman Hassan Waberi (Djibouti)
  16. Hany Abo Rida (Egypt)
  17. Andres-Jorge Mbomio (Equatorial Guinea)
  18. Juneidi Tilmo (Ethiopia)
  19. Pierre Alain Mounguengui (Gabon)
  20. Lamin Kaba Bajo (The Gambia)
  21. Kwesi Nyantakyi (Ghana)
  22. Mohamed Souare (Guinea)
  23. Manuel Lopes Nascimento (Guinea Bissau)
  24. Nicholas Mwendwa Kithuku (Kenya)
  25. Salemane Phafane (Lesotho)
  26. Musa Bility (Liberia) Jafaar (Libya)
  27. Ahmad Ahmad (Madagascar)
  28. Walter Nyamilandu (Malawi)
  29. Boubacar Diarra (Mali)
  30. Ahmed Yahya (Mauritania)
  31. Mohamed Ally Samir Sobha (Mauritius)
  32. Fouzi Lekjaa (Morocco)
  33. Alberto Junior (Mozambique)
  34. Frans Mbidi (Namibia)
  35. Melvin Amaju Pinnick(Nigeria)
  36. Hamidou Djibrilla (Niger Republic)
  37. Vincent Nzamwita (Rwanda)
  38. Domingos Monteiro (Sao Tome e Principe)
  39. Augustin Senghor (Senegal)
  40. Elvis Chetty (Seychelles)
  41. Isha Johansen (Sierra Leone)
  42. Abdiqani Said Arab (Somalia)
  43. Danny Jordaan (South Africa)
  44. Augustino (South Sudan)
  45. Mutasim Gafaar Sirelkhatim (Sudan)
  46. Adam Mthethwa (Swaziland)
  47. Jamal Malinzi (Tanzania)
  48. Kossi Akpovy (Togo)
  49. Wadie Jary (Tunisia)
  50. Moses Magogo (Uganda)
  51. Andrew Kamanga (Zambia)
  52. Phillip Chiyangwa (Zimbabwe)