EC Disqualifies Nduom, Konadu, 11 Others; See Full List

EC disqualifies 13 Presidential Candidates for failing to meet the necessary requirements

The Electoral Commission (EC) has disqualified Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom of the Progressive People’s Party (PPP), Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings of National Democratic Party (NDP), and 11 other presidential candidates from participating in the December elections.

See Also: EC Declines Filing Fees of Political Aspirants Nana Addo, Mahama, Others

According to reports, a total of 13 political parties were disqualified by the EC. The EC boss Charlotte Osei who announced this at a press conference on Monday, said the disqualified candidates were shown the door because, they failed to meet the requirements that makes them eligible to contest.

EC Disqualifies 13 Presidential Aspirants; Here’s the Full List:

  • Dr. Papa Kwesi Nduom -Progressive People’s Party (PPP)
  • Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings -National Democratic Party (NDP)
  • Hassan Ayariga – All People’s Congress (APC)
  • Kofi Akpalu -Independent People’s Party (IPP)
  • Thomas Nuako Ward-Brew -Democratic People’s Party (DPP)
  • Akua’s Donkor -Ghana Freedom Party (GFP),
  • Akwasi Addai Odike -United Progressive Party (UPP),
  • Kwabena Adjei -Reformed Patriotic Democrats (RPD)
  • Nana Agyenim Boateng -United Front Party (UFP)
  • Dr. Henry Herbert Lartey -Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP)
  • Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker – Independent candidate
  • Richard Nixon Tetteh – United Development Systems Party
  • Kwabena Adjei- Reform Patriotic Democrat

However, only four Presidential Candididates were qualified by the EC. They are;

  • Nana Addo–Dankwa Akufo-Addo – New Patriotic Party
  • John Dramani Mahama – National Democratic Congress
  • Ivor Kobina Greenstreet – Convention Peoples’ Party
  • Jacob Osei Yeboah – Independent Candidate

The contending political parties were supposed to submit their filing fees by midday on Monday, after an Accra High court dismissed an injunction suit filed by the PPP, in protest against the fees. Charlotte Osei, during the conference, gave a detailed explanation on why the parties were disqualified.

There have been massive agitations among the affected parties, most of whom are of the opinion that the EC’s act is an abuse of power. Nana Konadu of the NDP who was disqualified for a second time, took to social media to say that her party has refused to bow to the EC’s bullies.

More details to follow…