[email protected] Committee: Appointees Prove Themselves to Ghanaians by Forfeiting Allowances

The [email protected] committee who have come to understand the difficult financial and economic circumstances of the country; regarding the coming 60th-anniversary commemoration, have decided to forfeit any allowances due them.

It is a well known fact that each independence celebration comes with its own dynamics. Ghana will on 6th March 2017, celebrate its Diamond Jubilee after gaining independence from Britain in 1957. The nation however, hopes not to experience a deja vu of what happened in year 2007, when she celebrated her 50th independence.

President Nana Addo on Thursday, January 26, inaugurated a 30-member committee to plan for the country’s 60th anniversary celebrations. The committee, chaired by Ken Amankwa will supervise all events and planning processes leading to the celebration.

But following the fiasco that characterized Ghana @50 celebrations during the erstwhile Kufuor’s administration, the President was heavily criticized by a large section of the public, after he announced a 30-member committee.

Questions have been raised among the public regarding the integrity of the so called committee for [email protected] celebrations. Many Ghanaians have opined that 30 slots in the committee will only make room for misappropriation of funds as such numbers make it easier for possible siphoning of state funds just like in 2007.

The Committee has however made a move to prove their integrity to Ghanaians. Having held its maiden meeting on Saturday, January 26, the committee has now decided to forfeit the allowances due members. In a statement signed by the Chair of the Committee, Ken Amankwa, it said ‘members resolved to forfeit any and all allowance(s) and/or remuneration which may be due them.

Find below the full statement


The 60th Independence Anniversary Planning committee held its maiden meeting on  Saturday, the 28th of January, 2017

At the said meeting, members resolved to forfeit any and all allowance(s) and/or remuneration which may be due them.

The service to be rendered by the committee members will be strictly on a pro bono basis.

This decision was largely motivated by H.E the President’s attitude towards public service, that is to say, selfless service to one’s homeland. Further, we are determined to religiously be guided by H.E. the President’s directive for members to be mindful of the difficult financial and economic circumstances of our country, regarding our 60th anniversary commemoration.

We continue to count on the support and prayers of all Ghanaians in this endeavour.

Thank you and may God continue to bless our homeland.




No Cause to Worry – President Nana Addo

President Nana Addo has also calmed the fears of the people regarding the possible looting of government funds by the [email protected] committee. Nana Addo during the inauguration, explained that Ghana is low on funds and will not tolerate any form of looting. He pointed out that the committee as well as the celebrations will employ austerity measures, considering the current state of the economy.

See: What Nana Addo Is Saying and Doing About the State of the Economy

[email protected] Committee Assures Ghanaians

The controversial committee for independence celebration has also assured Ghanaians of transparency and accountability throughout the course of its activities. Deputy Chief of Staff and Vice Chairman for the [email protected] Planning Committee, Samuel Abu Jinapor has said that the committee will truly serve the people, and will not use the occasion as an opportunity to make money at the expense of the state.

According to him, the public concerns are understandable; which is why the President has charged the committee to be very mindful of the circumstances surrounding the country’s economy.

What Happened in 2007?

A similar committee was inaugurated in 2007 by then President John Kufuor, to man the activities for the celebration of Ghana’s 50th anniversary. However it was discovered after the celebration, that there was a gross misappropriation of funds by the committee.

The discovery had Dr. Wereko Brobbey and Kwadwo Okyere Mpiani, Chairman of the National Planning Committee for [email protected] indicted in August 2010. The duo had been charged of willfully causing financial loss to the State. However, their prosecution failed as they pleaded not guilty and were subsequently discharged by the Court of Appeal.

Below is the full list of members of the [email protected] committee:

  • Ken Amankwah (Chairman)
  • Samuel A. Jinapor (Vice Chairman)
  • Eugene Arhin (Secretary)
  • Duke Ofori-Atta
  • Lord Commey
  • Sam Ellis
  • Edmond Boateng
  • Michael Ofori-Atta
  • Ama Serwaa Nyarko
  • Jefferson Sackey
  • Kwaku Danso Misa (Communication Working Group)
  • Abyna Ansah Adjei (Communication Working Group)
  • Representative from the Vice President’s Office
  • Director of State Protocol
  • Chief of Protocol, Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  • Chief Director at the Presidency
  • Director Finance and Administration at the Presidency
  • Director Budget at the Presidency
  • Representative from State Protocol
  • Representative from the Ghana Armed Forces
  • Representative from National Security
  • Representative from the Ghana Police Services
  • Representative from the Ghana Prison Services
  • Representative from the Ghana Revenue Authority
  • Representative from the Ghana National Fire Services
  • Representative from the Ghana Education Services
  • Representative from Ministry of Education
  • Representative from Ministry of Information
  • Representative from Ministry of Tourism and Creative Arts
  • Representative from Ghana Immigration Services