Ministerial Vetting: Third Batch of Nominees to Face Parliament from Today; See Full Schedule

Ghana’s ministerial vetting continues as third batch of nominees will start to face the Parliament Appointments Committee from today.

The vetting of Nana Addo’s ministerial nominee which has been on since 20th January continues on February 6th. Facing the Parliamentary Appointments Committee today, being Monday are ministers-designate for Tourism, Parliamentary affairs, and Planning – Catherine Afeku, Osei Kyei-Mensa Bonsu and Gyan Baffour respectively.

According to reports from, the ministerial vetting for the week will last till Thursday, February 9. Nana Addo’s third batch of nominees comprising 11 ministers-designate will be vetted within this period. See full schedule below.

Monday, 6th February, 2017

  1. Hon. Catherine Afeku   –   Minister-designate for Tourism, Arts and Culture.
  2. Hon. Osei Kyei-Mensa Bonsu   –   Minister-designate for Parliamentary Affairs and Majority Leader
  3. Prof. Gyan Baffour   –   Minister-designate for Planning

Tuesday, 7th February, 2017

  1. Hon. Isaac Asiamah   –   Minister-designate for Youth and Sports
  2. Hon. Awal Ibrahim Mohammed   –   Minister-designate for Business Development
  3. Hon. Mavis Hawa Kooson   –   Minister-designate for Special Development Initiatives

Wednesday, 8th February, 2017

  1. Hon. Boniface Saddique  –   Minister-designate for Inner City and Zongo Development
  2. Hon. Cecilia Daapah   –   Minister-designate for Aviation
  3. Hon. Kofi Dzamesi   –   Minister-designate for Chieftaincy and religious Affairs

Thursday, 9th February, 2017

  1. Hon. Elizabeth Naa Afoley Quaye   –   Minister-designate for Fisheries and Aquaculture
  2. Mr. Mustapha Abdul-Hamid   –   Minister-designate for Information

President Nana Akufo-Addo following his inauguration presented a list of 36 ministerial nominees to the parliament for approval. The list came in three batches.

A 24-member Parliament Appointments Committee was subsequently instituted and saddled with the responsibility of screening the minister-nominees before their final approval by the House of Parliament. So far, 12 ministerial nominees have been sworn, 13 have been vetted but yet to be approved and sworn in while the remaining 11 are to be vetted this week.

Approved and Sworn in Ministers

President Nana Akufo-Addo has sworn in 12 of the 36 persons he named as ministers for various portfolios after their approval by Parliament’s Appointments Committee.

The swearing-in ceremony took place at the Flagstaff House on Friday, 27th January. where President Akufo-Addo charged the new ministers to deliver on the commitments the New Patriotic Party made on the campaign trail ahead of its election victory.

Although the approval of the Senior and Energy ministers-designate were delayed due to the call for additional information to support some claims they made during their respective vetting; the two were later approved by consensus.

Mr. Agyarko reportedly withdrew the statements he made on the “debt associated with the Electricity Company of Ghana (ECG) and the Volta River Authority (VRA)” which the Minority Leader, Haruna Iddrisu said were “inaccurate”. Osafo Marfo on his own part, provided the required information.

The full list of sworn-in Ministers

  1. Minister for Finance, Ken Ofori Atta
  2. Minister for Trade and Industry, Alan Kyerematen
  3. Minister for Justice, Gloria Akuffo
  4. Minister for National Security, Albert Kan Dapaah
  5. Minister for Defence, Dominic Nitiwul
  6. Minister for Local Government Ministry, Hajia Alima Mahama
  7. Minister for Interior, Ambrose Dery
  8. Minister for Education, Matthew Opoku Prempeh
  9. Minister for Health, Kwaku Agyemang-Manu
  10. Minister for Agriculture, Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto
  11. Senior Minister, Yaw Osafo-Maafo
  12. Energy Minister, Boakye Agyarko