Murtala Mohammed Loses Natong Constituency Seat to NPP

NDC’s Murtala Mohammed loses the Natong seat, after polling 10, 451 with NPP’s Alhaji Hardi Tuferu grabbing 11, 346 votes…

Incumbent Member of Parliament and second-time aspiring candidate for Natong Constituency in the Northern Region, vying under the umbrella of the National Democratic Congress, Ibrahim Murtala Mohammed has lost the seat to his New Patriotic Party opponent, Alhaji Hardi Tuferu.

NDC’s Murtala Mohammed loses the Natong seat, having polled 10, 451 as against NPP’s Alhaji Hardi Tuferu who garnered 11, 346 votes to grab the seat.

Also See: Latest Provisional Polling Station Results

Murtala Mohammed had earlier alleged in an interview with Diamond Fm that some of his fellow MPs are plotting to that he does not retain his position as an MP. Although he never disclosed names of his suspects then, his current loss appears to substantiate his claims.

Other Parliamentary Winners

NPP parliamentary candidate for Ofoase-Ayirebi, Kojo Oppong Nkrumah has won the 2016 parliamentary elections in the constituency. Kojo Oppong Nkrumah won the parliamentary seat for Ofoase-Ayirebi with an impressive 17,141 votes.

Also, New Patriotic Party’s Anthony Karbo has won the Lawra seat, according to provisional results. He 8,704 tobeat his closest rival, Bede Ziedeng of the governing National Democratic Congress to win the seat.

Results from polling stations within a constituency were collated at a Constituency Collation Centre, with the Returning Officer for the Constituency subsequently declaring the winner of the Parliamentary Polls.

Meanwhile, results of the Presidential polls are forwarded to Accra, the EC headquarters for collation and final certified results declared by the Electoral Commission Chairperson who is the Returning Officer for the Presidential Polls.

Stay on, we’ll bring you more updates as the results keep unfolding.