No Politician Can Influence Me – Nana Aba States Categorically

Renowned journalist and broadcaster Nana Aba Anamoah, has advised her fellow media practitioners not to accept gifts from politicians as the election period is approaching.

Nana Aba who is a presenter of The State of Affairs on GHOne TV, said she does not accept offers from political influencers.

See Also: Nana Aba and Sandra Ankobiah Emerge Ghana Ambassadors For Women’s Football

Speaking on on Joy FM’s Super Morning Show on Tuesday, the outspoken journalist gave her own analysis of what happens behind the scenes, during election period.

Nana Aba analysed the pre-election period to be a season of compromising offers of goodies including cash and cars, as politicians try to win more supporters. Nana Aba2

The former TV3 host pointed out that, in their bid to win votes; politicians entice journalists with money and cars – mostly for men, and expensive dinner dates -mostly for women, to promote their various campaign messages.

This she explained pointing out that, the perception of female journalists receiving favours from politicians, is sometimes exaggerated. Speaking on her own experience, she recalled a time when a prominent politician demanded his share of the ‘national cake’ from her, after a news bulletin.

See Also: I’ll Curse Anyone Who Says I Was Bribed To Support NDC -Mercy Asiedu

Having given her analysis, she stated that she is indeed above the influence from politicians. The fearless broadcaster also lamented on the poor remunerations of journalists across the country, which has caused many good hands to leave the profession.

She pointed out that media owners are not treating their staff well, calling for a change in the system. According to her, she wants to see journalism numbered among the profession seen as “greener pastures”.

Known across the country for her outspokenness, Nana Aba Anamoah has won up to three awards in the course of her profession. This includes, TV Personality of the year, Ghana Journalist Association News Reporter of The Year, TV News Anchor of the Year.