PPP’s Nduom Concedes Defeat; Congratulates Nana Addo!

Nduom congratulates Nana Addo for winning 2016 presidential elections, despite EC’s injunction that no stakeholder should declare results of the elections.

Flagbearer of the Progressive People’s Party (PPP), Dr. Papa Kwesi Nduom, has just congratulated Flagbearer of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Nana Akufo-Addo; for emerging winner of the 2016 presidential election. Like a few other stakeholders, Dr. Nduom has violated the Electoral Commission’s injunction by declaring Nana Addo the winner.

See: How Stakeholders Rebuke NPP for Declaring Election Results

Although the EC is yet to release certified result, the PPP Flagbearer who just conceded defeat has said that results available to him projects Akufo-Addo as winner of the polls held on Wednesday, December 7.

Dr. Nduom in a Facebook post, congratulated Nana Addo for winning the Presidential election, saying his hard work has finally paid off. His post read:

I wish to congratulate Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo of the NPP for winning the 2016 presidential election based on results available to me. The wind of change has blown in his favor. The NPP worked hard for this victory. I accept the decision of the people on behalf of the PPP. We must all now work hard to make our country great and strong and the people prosperous.

Also See: Provisional Polling Station Results

The NPP had earlier called on President John Mahama and the National Democratic Congress (NDC), to concede the presidential election to Nana Addo. Addressing a press conference on December 7, NPP’s Campaign Coordinator Peter Mac Manu, declared Nana Addo the winner, after calling provisional results of the election.

However, the EC and other stakeholders including the NDC, frowned at NPP’s declaration of results. They described it as a reckless move which has the tendency of plunging the nation into catastrophe. But despite the warnings by EC, Nduom congratulates Nana Addo for winning the 2016 presidential elections.

Ghana continues to wait for the final announcement of the winner, by the EC which has the sole mandate, to declare election results.