NSMQ 2017 Winners: Otumfuo Honours Prempeh Contestants with Scholarship

The NSMQ 2017 Winners, students of Prempeh College, have been enjoying numerous rewards and benefits since after leading their school to victory in this year’s National Science and Maths Quiz Competition.

From the main winning prize, to getting a free flight from Starbow, the Prempeh winning team have since remained a cynosure of all, with the latest on their list of rewards being a package from the Asantehene, Otumfuo Nana Osei Tutu II.

The College quiz team, comprising the contestants and their coaching teachers, were at the Manhyia Palace on , to present the trophy to Otumfuo.

The Asantehene, in commendation of their victory, reportedly promised the final three contestants – Sarfo-Ansah Wonder, Daniel Osei Badu and Kofi Konadu Boakye full educational scholarship. The scholarship package is expected to cover their education through the tertiary level.

Final two NSMQ 2017 Winners

Otumfuo also presented GH¢5,000 to each of the teachers who coached the students to victory.

NSMQ 2017 Winners

Prempeh College located in the Ashanti Region, beat defending champions Adisadel College and 2013 champions St. Thomas Aquinas, in the prestigious 2017 edition of the NSMQ competition held on June 29.

Also See: Facts You Never Knew About Prempeh College

Prempeh had 53 points at the end of the competition while Thomas Aquinas and Adisco had 51 and 31 points respectively.

Among other accolades, Prempeh was awarded GHC 40,000 while Aquinas and Adisadel received GHC30,000 and GHC20,000 respectively. The three schools also received packages from Tigo and GCB Bank.

Prempeh College won the maiden edition of the National Science and Maths Quiz in 1994. This year’s win is the fourth time the school went home with the NSMQ trophy (1994, 1996, 2015 and 2017).

The school which has proven to groom intellectuals also boasts being the first Secondary institution in Ghana and the whole of Africa, to win the World Robotics Competition, beating western giants like China, Japan, and many other European countries that year.