Zanetor’s Hard Work Pays off as She Triumphs over Addison, Nii Noi to Win Klottey Korle

After a very tough political journey, Zanetor Rawlings wins the parliamentary seat for Klottey Korle…

National Democratic Congress (NDC)’s parliamentary candidate for Klottey Korle in Greater Accra Region, Zanetor Rawlings has been declared winner of the constituency’s parliamentary elections.

Zanetor, who ran the race alongside major contenders – Philip Addison of the New Patritic Party and Independent Candidate, Nii Noi Nortey came out victorious in the polls with a quite significant margin.

Provisional results from the Electoral Commission show that Zanetor Rawlings wins with 33,609 as against NPP’s Addison who polled 29,122 votes.

Nii Noi Nortey only managed 3,911 votes, below people’s expectations. Nii Noi had gone independent after rejecting the results of the NPP’s re-run of her primaries in which Philip Addison was declared winner.

Dr. Zanetor’s bid for the Klortey Korle Parliamentary seat was one that was besieged by tough challenges, majorly the series of court cases against her by the incumbent NDC MP for the constituency, Nii Armah Ashitey.

Her victory over Mr. Ashitey in the NDC primaries was followed by a suit against her and the Electoral Commission at the High Court alleging that Dr. Rawlings was not eligible to contest the Klottey Korle primary in November 2015, because she was not a registered voter.

However, Zanetor took the case to the Supreme Court who by a majority decision, cleared her to contest the parliamentary election for the Klottey Korle constituency on the ticket of the NDC in the December elections.

Follow some of the stories on the major woes Zanetor Rawlings scaled through before her current victory with the following posts.

Fight Continues for Zanetor as Court Orders Lawyers to Open Defense

Zanetor Prays Court To Throw Out Ashietey’s Case

Court Dishes Out GH¢2,500 Fine To Zanetor For Wasting Its Time

Zanetor Has Her Way At The Supreme Court; See How It Happened

Other parliamentary aspirants fro the constituency; Joshua Kofi Breint of the Great Consolidated People’s Party (GCP) and Godwin Opare Addo of the Convention People’s Party polled 0 and 194 votes respectively.

We will not soon forget, that the Progressive People’s Party (PPP)’s parliamentary candidate for Klottey Korle, Eva Lokko never had the opportunity to contest in the elections as she unfortunately died about two months to the polls.