Supreme Court to Give Judgment on Special Voting Case Today

Supreme court will give its judgement on the special voting case in which the plaintiffs are praying court to order the EC to declare special voting results on same day of balloting

The Supreme Court is today, expected to give its judgment in the case seeking the Electoral Commission (EC) to declare Special Voting results on the same day of balloting.

A member of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Dr. Kwame Amoako-Tuffuor and two others dragged the Commission to the Supreme Court, seeking an order to compel the commission to announce results of special voting on the same day it is held.

See Also: EC Is Still Bent On Rigging The Elections -Martin Amidu

One of the plaintiffs in the special voting case, Dr Amoako Tuffuor, believes that people who want to take part in the special voting should not be made to wait until the result is added to the others and declared.  The two other plaintiffs, Benjamin Arthur and Adreba Abrefa Damoa in their writ, argued that section 23 of C.I. 94, of the law which regulates the conduct of the 2016 general elections, is inconsistent with Article 49 of the 1992 constitution.

Special Voting

Special voting is a facility provided by law to allow registered voters who will not be able to present themselves at their polling stations due to the role they play in the elections, to vote on a date prior to the day of general voting.

Per the C.I. 94, at the end of the special voting, the returning officer will ensure that the ballot boxes used in the special election are kept in safe custody after the poll has closed. The returning officer also ensures that the ballot boxes are properly sealed with the EC’s seal.

See Also: It’ll Take Supernatural Powers to Rig This year’s Elections – Charlotte Osei

For this year’s election, about 65,000 voters comprising security operatives and media personalities are expected to cast their ballot via special voting. The special voting is scheduled to hold on December 1, 2016. It is to start at 7:00 am and end at 5:00 pm at designated polling stations across the country.